Census RecordsCity DirectoriesMapsMilitary recordsNewspapersObituariesVital RecordsWebsites
Adoption SearchesAfrican American ResearchNative American Searches
How to Use Footnote @ the Library

Admin Sign In 

Genealogy  Tags: genealogy family_history vital_records obituaries  

Genealogy resources.
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://ebr.lib.la.libguides.com/genealogy  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

About this guide

These guides are designed to help the beginning family researcher with the first steps in genealogy and to discover the available resources that can help. The genealogy process is unique to every researcher.  Please call  763-2283 or visit with the genealogy staff for help if you have questions about your particular research. 

 

Check this out!

Be sure to take a look at the EVENTS tab to find classes, seminars and discussions about genealogy.

 

Did You Know?

That Footnote.com now has over 54 million documents online? Footnote.com premium documents can be viewed for FREE at your library branch.

 
 

About the collection

tombstone

The Bluebonnet genealogy collection includes microfilm, print and electronic resources that focus on Louisiana and the surrounding southern states. All states are at least marginally represented to give researchers a full range of potential study. Noted as one of the finest public libraries in the region by other societies, scholars, and researchers, the collection provides a broad scope not only geographically but in time as well, with access to microfilm copies of records from British and Spanish colonial eras.

The Baton Rouge genealogical collection is within close proximity to the Louisiana State Archives, the Family History Center at the Mormon church,  to LSU's Hill Memorial Library, and to the Clerk of Court's Archives.  Altogether we provide a vast array of genealogical treasure just waiting to be discovered.

The staff at the genealogy collection includes one fulltime librarian and three technicians who are specially trained to assist you with your genealogical questions. Classes are offered periodically. Check the library web calendar for the available schedule or call 763-2283.

There are three computers dedicated to fulltime genealogy use, althougth the genealogy databases can be accessed from any library in the system.  Our primary online database subscriptions include fulltime access to Heritage Quest and Footnote.com.  

 

Genealogy Book Highlights

  • Walking With Your Ancestors - Melinda Kashuba
    Genealogy has as much to do with geography as it does with history. Maps are a crucial tool in learning about your family history. They can show migration patterns, mark homestead locations, and reveal details about why your ancestors lived where they did.
 

Contact Us

Profile ImageGenealogy Collection
Contact Info:
9200 Bluebonnet Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70810
(225) 763-2283
Send Email

 

Hours

 9 to 9 Monday -Thursday

9 to 6 Friday/Saturday

2 to 6 Sunday

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait